l'arts.jpg

ART WITH CLOSED EYES

Close your eyes, feel the emotion
 

For Art with Closed Eyes , some of the world's greatest artists have taken on one of the most difficult challenges of their lives: describing one of their works to a listener who won't see it. They agreed to replace colors with words, energies with sentences, vision with speech. How far can they go? Will they manage to make feel by the virtue of the word the emotions that only vision, normally, communicates to the one who contemplates a work of art? Would they succeed, for example, in bringing a blind person - whether truly or metaphorically - into their universe? Is language, as Roland Barthes asserted, a skin capable of transmitting sensuality as well as desire?  


Art with closed eyes thus offers us an experience at the frontiers of visual arts and language. Because, by suggesting to the artists themselves to describe their work instead of delegating this work to critics, experts and historians, Art with closed eyes breaks a convention: that which requires to feel art instead of commenting on it.


What if the truth of the work lies precisely in this gap between the reality of the work and its very unfaithful transcription into words? What if this device allowed us, in the end, to touch with our fingers, the beating heart, the very soul of the work, that is to say what it has unspeakable?

 

Adrian Ghenie, Joana Vasconcelos Maurizio Catalan, Hervé Di Rosa, Philippe Pasqua, Robert Combas, Bettina Reims, Barthelemy Togo, Daniel Buren and many others participate in this collection of original, innovative and inclusive podcasts.

l'arts.jpg

L'ART LES YEUX FERMÉS

Une oeuvre, un artiste, un podcast.
 

Pour L’Art les yeux fermés, quelques-uns des plus grands artistes du monde se sont prêtés à l’un des défis les plus difficiles de leur vie : décrire l’une de leurs œuvres à un auditeur qui ne la verra pas. Ils ont accepté de remplacer les couleurs par des mots, les énergies par des phrases, une vision par un discours. Jusqu’où pourront-ils aller ? Parviendront-ils à faire ressentir par la vertu du verbe les émotions que seule la vision, normalement, communique à celui qui contemple une œuvre d’art ? Parviendraient-ils, par exemple, à faire entrer un non-voyant – qu’il le soit véritablement ou métaphoriquement – dans leur univers ? Le langage est-il, comme l’affirmait Roland Barthes, une peau capable de transmettre la sensualité aussi bien que le désir ? 


L’Art les yeux fermés nous propose ainsi une expérience aux frontières des arts visuels et du langage. Car, en suggérant aux artistes eux-mêmes de décrire leur œuvre au lieu de déléguer ce travail aux critiques, experts et historiens, L’Art les yeux fermés brise une convention : celle qui impose de ressentir l’art au lieu de le commenter.


Et si la vérité de l’œuvre résidait précisément dans ce décalage entre la réalité de l’œuvre et sa très infidèle transcription en mots ? Et si ce dispositif nous permettait, en fin de compte, de toucher du doigt, le cœur battant, l’âme même de l’œuvre, c’est-à-dire ce qu’elle a d’indicible ?

 

Adrian Ghenie, Joana Vasconcelos Maurizio Catalan, Hervé Di Rosa, Philippe Pasqua, Robert Combas, Bettina Reims, Barthelemy Togo, Daniel Buren et bien d’autres participent à cette collection de podcasts originale, innovante et inclusive.